Peihsin Tsai is Looking Forward to Leading

Updated: Oct 7, 2018

She talks with us about what achievements mean to her, travel, and family tea time

Peihsin Tsai is a 27 year old Masters of International Business student from Hsinchu, Taiwan. She completed her undergraduate degree in International Liberal Studies from Waseda University in Japan.


"Be true to yourself, make decisions and take the lead"

Q: What gives you the biggest sense of pride?


A: Have measurable/ recognisable achievement that reflects me of my experience, knowledge, value.


Q: What’s a place you have traveled that changed your perspective?


A: Bangkok and Kyoto. For all the cities I've visited, these two are the one I frequently revisit for business and casual purposes. The first place was a lively city that I saw new businesses emerging with creative products or ideas, entrepreneurship seems to be more than an attitude but an appreciable lifestyle. The latter was where craftsmanship is value and successfully blended into a profitable business model that allows traditions reserved yet evolved. Both are every different from my culture where business take a long time, and discreetness to start, and traditions slowly dies.


Q: What advice would you give to your 13 year old self?


A: Be true to yourself, make decisions and take the lead.



"I see myself working for a firm focusing on leveraging technology to deliver a better user experience."

Q: Who is a person you’ve met recently who inspired you?


A: Chase, uni friend of mine who’s productive and determined in achieving milestones that are very different. He had wanted and achieved in publishing a book, becoming a paid photographer, running events of social activists.


Q: How has family had an effect on your upbringing?


A: I grew up in a family that enjoys discussions during tea time that we'd make a pot of hot tea and can talk about anything like politics, science, arts, and new hobbies. It affects me in a way that regarding social activities I feel at ease when sitting down and casually chatting with a small group of people.


Q: What’s something people wouldn’t know about where you grew up?


A: I came from a city where 90% of the working population is in the IT/engineering field. My family, school friends would joke about the common language of our town is not Mandarin but coding.


Q: What do you want to get out of Melbourne University by the time you’ve finished your degree?


A: I would like to obtain a management skillset and general business knowledge that would make me flexible to either joining in a startup or running one.




Q: Where do you see yourself in 5 years?


A: I see myself working in cities in the Asia Pacific, working for a firm focusing on leveraging technology to deliver a better user experience that can be B2C or B2B


Q: Is there pressure in your culture to go into certain industries? If so, which?


A: Certainly, not necessary good but my culture generally gives higher respect to those working in industries that require breadth or depth of knowledge, such as medical, law, and science.


Q: What one word describes you best?


A: Neutral



If you liked this post we would encourage you to read another peer profile. If you want to go a step further we would appreciate you sharing the post using the buttons below. Every week we publish new peer stories, and if you sign up for our newsletter you can get those stories delivered every week. Thank you for supporting Peers of UniMelb.